Landers (landing pages)



A landing page helps you with lead / sales generation for successive offers within a particular campaign funnel. Of course in PeerClick, you can track the data of the campaign funnels where the landing pages are available. This set of articles outlines some important factors to look at, before starting setting up campaign funnels where the landing pages are available.

First of all, let's get familiar with the convention that is going to be used in the guides. The landing page is a stand alone web page that your visitors land on after clicking the ad (campaign URL). The lander is a campaign's element in PeerClick that will allow you to create a campaign funnel and specify its requirements adequately to the landing page's setup. In other words, if only you want to have a landing page as a part of the campaign funnel in PeerClick, you need to have a landing page hosted externally and a lander entity created in PeerClick.

In general terms, a call-to-action (CTA) link / button is placed within a landing page as a standard method to, firstly, see visitor interest by registering how many people click CTA links, and, secondly, to handle redirection to the various offers. In addition, you can display pieces of information dynamically within tokens.

A key metric commonly used to judge the success of a landing page CTA is its click-through rate (CTR ). CTR is calculated by taking the total amount of clicks recorded for a landing page divided by the total visits recorded for the landing page.


Let’s assume that your landing page records a total of 874 visits and 216 clicks, then the CTR would be:
CTR (%) = total clicks / total visits 100
uCTR (%) = total unick clicks / total unick visits
CTR = 216 / 874 * 100 = 24.72%

n PeerClick, landing page clicks are measured by placing a PeerClick click URL in the CTA link(s) / button(s) contained within the landing page. By implementing a PeerClick click URL, landing pages do not require any additional scripting for tracking clicks or offer redirections. This is mainly because the click URL is dependent on referer and cookie data generated and stored following a campaign visit.

The number of offers on a landing page will determine the PeerClick click URL format used in CTA links / buttons: click URL or multi-offer click URL. If you want to have one offer on the landing page (even linked with many CTA links / buttons), you need to use click URL. If you want to have many offers with a corresponding number of CTA links / buttons, use the multi-offer click URL. However, if you want to rotate offers on the landing page, set the number of offers to 1 and add multiple offers in the campaign' setup.

On next pages you will find how to add a lander to PeerClick and then, how to paste the click URLs on your landing page depending on the number of CTA links. There are two sets of guides that you might be interested in:

  • If you only want to add a simple landing page to your campaign funnel where there is no dynamic information passed to the landing page, you need to follow a few steps to set it up appropriately. It means that you do not need to use tokens in the lander's setup, only declare the URL of your landing page. The below guides instruct you what you need to do in PeerClick and on the landing page:

Adding a Simple Lander to PeerClick
Adding Click URLs to a Landing Page

  • If you require to get more sophisticated setup because you want to pass dynamic information to the landing page, see the following instructions:

Adding Click URLs on a Landing Page Used in Different Funnels, if you have one landing page added to different campaign funnels
Displaying PeerClick Parameters on a Landing Page (Dynamic Call-Outs), if you want to use PeerClick’s data inside your landing page, for example, by inserting a headline "Hello iPhone user"

Have more questions about landing pages? You might find the answer below:

  • I would like to run my campaigns in PeerClick, but I'm not sure if I need to have a landing page for each single campaign. If so, do I still need to set a landing page for each campaign to be able to track data in PeerClick?

  • No, you do not need to have a landing page for each campaign. You need to prepare your landing page and then, add a lander to PeerClick only if you require such an option. PeerClick allows you to create a campaign without a landing page. If you redirect users directly to the offer page, you can set up the Direct linking option in the campaign's setup and select the offer you want to associate with a given campaign.

  • I want to use a landing page in my campaign funnels. Could you recommend what kind of landing pages works best?

  • A fast and reliable third-party hosting service allows that your landing pages get the best possible service. This is to ensure that landing page loading times are kept as low as possible – quicker page loading will reduce page bounce rates. This will then increase the chances of a higher click-through rate and, resultantly, a higher conversion rate. To host landing pages containing both static and dynamic content, we recommend using a Content Delivery Network (CDN).

You also have multiple solutions available to help you measure your page load / response times, which helps you with optimization. It is highly recommended to try the tool to get a detailed overview of your landing page’s performance.